Mar 27, 2023
Return to: Program Requirements
Creating competent, ethical, confident entry–level health care practitioners committed to professional development through life–long learning in a positive, non–discriminatory and supportive learning environment.
An emergency medical services system consists of many different components. Emergency medical technician is the basic entry–level for work in the EMS field. EMTs provide basic life support and transportation for the sick and injured.
This limited access program prepares graduates to function as entry–level emergency medical technicians. Upon completion of the program, graduates are awarded a technical certificate and are eligible to apply to sit for the Florida state board exam to qualify for certification as an EMT in the state of Florida.
Certification and Licensing
Upon completion of the program graduates are eligible to apply to sit for the Florida state board exam to qualify for certification as an EMT in the state of Florida.
This program is accredited by the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399 (850.245.4440).
To meet the minimum requirements for consideration for acceptance to the Emergency Medical Services program students must: All applicants for admission to this program must be at least 18 years of age.
- Students must submit a Florida State College EMT application to the EMS department.
- Incomplete or late applications will not be considered. (Contact EMT office for application deadlines.)
Need More Information?
View Program Information and Contacts
Prior to being admitted to the program applicants must complete the following course:
Total Credit Hours: 11
Record of Conviction of a Crime
Effective July 1, 2009, pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, health care review boards shall refuse to renew a license, certificate or registration, issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendre, regardless of adjudication, to a felony violation of: chapters 409, 817, or 893, Florida Statutes; or 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 U.S.C. ss 1395-1396, unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application, terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent 5 years) or terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent 5 years). The Florida nursing or allied health licensure or certification application requires disclosure of any criminal history and the disposition of all cases prior to board review. Being convicted of, or having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, any of the listed felonies in Florida Statute 456.0635 or termination for cause from the statutorily-described Medicaid programs will preclude an applicant from obtaining a nursing or allied health license or certification in the state of Florida. Entry and acceptance into the nursing or allied health program does not guarantee licensure or certification in the State of Florida.
Most clinical agencies require students to undergo drug screen and criminal background checks prior to placement in the agencies for clinical experiences. Students whose drug screening and criminal background checks are deemed unsatisfactory may be denied access to clinical experiences by the clinical agencies. Failure to qualify for and meet clinical requirements at clinical sites may prevent completion of the program. Withdrawal from the program may be necessary if students cannot be placed for clinical experiences.
The cost of the background check and drug screen is borne by the student. Additionally, it is the student’s responsibility to have all paperwork completed by the program’s published deadline.
Students who are unable to complete the clinical requirements after acceptance into selective access programs are not eligible for refunds of tuition.
A physical examination will be required upon acceptance to the program.
In order to be awarded a technical certificate, students must have met the following requirements.
- Earned a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 (C) on all courses attempted at Florida State College.
- Completed the required courses as set forth in the College catalog or as approved by the assistant dean of the area.
- Students who place into college preparatory courses are required to complete designated college preparatory courses with a grade of “C” or better regardless of program of study.
- Completed at least one–fourth of the total hours required for a certificate in residence at Florida State College. Before students may graduate, they must have fulfilled all financial obligations to the College.
Note: Students are cautioned to pay particular attention to the following statements.
- Graduation dates will be the date at the end of the College term in which students complete the academic requirements for the degree or certificate for which they are applicants. (The removal of an incomplete grade does not affect students’ graduation dates, since the grade change is effective at the end of the term in which the incomplete grade was assigned rather than the term in which the incomplete work was made up.)
- If students expect to complete the coursework under the terms of the catalog in effect during the term of their first registration, they must graduate within five years or they will need to be reassigned to an active catalog. Accordingly, students who enter under this catalog (2009/2010) must graduate by the end of the Summer Term 2014, or they will be required to consult with their academic program to determine the appropriate active catalog placement. Changes to requirements as mandated by law or by rule of the District Board of Trustees may supersede this provision.
Return to: Program Requirements